Brass Lantern Award

Starting in 2006, the GCGRS membership awards a brass lantern to an outstanding member or couple who have gone above and beyond to contribute to the GCGRS. Nominations are accepted at the September meeting and published in the October Branch Line. The nominees are voted on and the winner is announced at the annual Christmas party


2017 Winners – Allan and Liz Pantle

Allan and Liz Pantle have made numerous contributions to the club. Allan has conducted several clinics and programs and running an operations contest at two meetings. Allan chaired the model and photo contest at the 29th National Garden Railway Convention. Both Allan and Liz helped man the 29th NGRC booth at the Chicago convention promoting the convention next year. Both have been heavily involved with the club railway at EnterTrainment Junction both with planning, construction and maintenance. Liz in particular has helped organize work sessions and coordinated planting as well as maintaining the plants. Liz organized the clinics for 2012 making sure the clinics are advertised to the club and general public alike. Both Allan and Liz routinely contact members and non-members alike about the monthly free clinics offered at EnterTrainment Junction and contact new members to welcome them to the club. Both Liz and Allan contribute to the modular and live steam displays with construction and operation; Allan is a very active live steamer and Liz assists. Liz managed the name badges. Allan has provided assistance to members on railway construction. Allan and Liz coordinated the garden railway display at the Delhi Garden Center’s Flower Show a few years ago. Allan worked with Bob Vincent to organize and run the Kids Run Day last year at the club layout at EnterTRAINment Junction. The Pantles have their excellent garden railroad open for the tour every year. Allan and Liz have contributed in numerous ways to advance the GCGRS and garden railroading. This is their fifth time being nominated. I urge you to vote for the Pantles for this year’s Brass Lantern award. They are very deserving of this recognition.

Past Winners

2016 Mike Wolf
2015 Don Oeters
2014 Zach Stenger
2013 Blair Thompson
2012 Scot Rogers
2011 Jim and Jane Matchett
2010 Ray and Grace Budinger
2009 Larry Koehl
2008 John Lange
2007 Dan Stenger
2006 Ray and Charlotte Hughes